In the spring of 1972, Emma Stewart and Carrie Robins met with six retired teachers to encourage them to form a group of Superannuated Teachers in Prince Albert.  The idea was discussed further at a meeting hosted by Myrtle Strangways later that year.

On January 26, 1973, at the home of Miss Gwen Graham, ten women Superannuates of the Prince Albert Public Schools organized a group with Mrs. Louise Carrick as President and Mrs. Mary Tomlinson as Secretary.  This formed the nucleus of the Prince Albert Chapter, STS. 

The first meeting had 20 members present but by April there were 63 members.  By the end of 1974 the membership had increased to 93.  In 2019, the membership is 670 members.